The Fireplace Follow Up

IMG_9062

Our fireplace is an evolving work of art. I’ve written about it here, and here and here.  Over the summer I was ready to do some demo and repair but I couldn’t part with the drawings the girls had done just yet.  So, instead I finally got the nerve to do what I originally intended to do. I graffitied the wall!  It felt so good. It was a lot of fun. The graffiti has become a thing in the interior design world. But of course because rarely do I come up with an original thought!

I’ve become very aware of something. I don’t think I’m ever going to want to part with art the girls have done.  I think I’m going to have to repair the fireplace and figure out what to do with the base and then let them go ahead and draw and graffiti it again. Specially now when they’re young I think I’ll appreciate the fireplace more as they get older.  But I do need to tidy it up a bit and make it more presentable.  It’s kind of like when you have “messy” hair it still needs to be styled.

Leave a Reply

