El Rosal

FullSizeRender-4My family has a farm in Colombia, outside of Bogota. The land has been in our family for over 100 years.  I remember going as a child. Forty years ago we had to take the train and then walk a great distance. If it rained it was hard because the mud was thick and sticky. But I also remember the wonderful taste of fresh milk right from the cow. It was warm and creamy.  I remember playing with chickens, hanging with cows, sheep and horses. I think these memories are in my sub conscience and important to me because I make an effort to take my girls to a local farm here in Los Angeles, so they to can hang with sheep, horses, cows and chickens.

I must say our property is gorgeous! It’s over 80 acres of green beautiful countryside, including a hill and a house built in adobe with Spanish tiled roof and a courtyard. My great-grandfather built the house in 1932 and from what I’ve been told it’s taking on the years very well. I’ve dreamed of developing this property into something the world could enjoy the way we have but in a much more luxurious and eco-conscience setting.

Recently my wheels have been turning. Here are some pictures that give you a little of its feel.  They were taken at various stages of the farm over the last 20 years.

FullSizeRender-25

I learned to use a bow and arrow here.

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender-20

IMG_3677

FullSizeRender-21

IMG_3676

IMG_3674
FullSizeRender-19
FullSizeRender-13 FullSizeRender-10

FullSizeRender-15

FullSizeRender-22

FullSizeRender-3

FullSizeRender-14 FullSizeRender-11 FullSizeRender-16 IMG_3632 IMG_3675FullSizeRender-26
FullSizeRender-24FullSizeRender-9FullSizeRender-8FullSizeRender-7FullSizeRender-6FullSizeRender-2FullSizeRender-1FullSizeRender-12FullSizeRender-17FullSizeRender-18
IMG_3678My dad, my grandfather, my great-grandfather, and so on have put their work and expertise into this land. For some reason, lately I feel I would be disappointing all the previous generations if I don’t use my skill set to put this land to work as well. And so the wheels are turning. 


Leave a Reply

